North Carolina Sports Association Announces Formation of North Carolina Sports Leadership Council

Durham, N.C — The North Carolina Sports Association (NCSA) announced
the formation of the North Carolina Sports Leadership Council, comprised of sports leaders from across the state who will serve as the industry’s collective voice on issues impacting sports event tourism.

The N.C. Sports Leadership Council (NCSLC) includes 31 individuals representing major league sports franchises, conferences, venues, and amateur sports organizations based in North Carolina, along with representatives of the state’s sports tourism industry. The NCSA’s Government Relations Committee spearheaded the effort to create the Council.

The Council’s primary objectives are:

  • To increase awareness and better amplify the positive impact of the sports industry to North Carolina.
  • To set strategy to address challenges involving legislative, social, and unforeseen national issues (i.e. COVID-19)
  • To establish a call-to-action plan as opportunities and issues arise.
  • To increase communication among all Council members and organizations.

Fred Whitfield, President of the Charlotte Hornets, will serve as Honorary Chairman.

Scott Dupree, Executive Director of the Greater Raleigh Sports Alliance, will serve as Chair.

Here is the complete list of the North Carolina Sports Leadership Council:

Brad Allen, President, North Carolina Senior Games

Bonny Bernat, Chair, NCSA

Demp Bradford, Chair, NCSA Government Relations Committee

Al Davis, President, USA Track & Field North Carolina

Ed Duncan, State Chairman, North Carolina USA Wrestling

Scott Dupree, Executive Director, Greater Raleigh Sports Alliance

Jeff Elliott, Executive Director, North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame

Keith Fishburne, President & CEO, Special Olympics North Carolina

John Mark Freeze, Director of Sports Development, Visit Charlotte

Kelly Gaines, Executive Director, United States Tennis Assoc. North Carolina

Tom Glick, President, Tepper Sports & Entertainment

Chuck Hobgood, President, North Carolina Amateur Sports

C.J. Johnson, President, Winston-Salem Dash

Curt Johnson, President & GM, North Carolina FC / NC Courage

Donna Julian, EVP, Hornets Sports & Entertainment / GM, Spectrum Center

Kyle Kallander, Commissioner, Big South Conference

Jacqie McWilliams, Commissioner, Central Intercollegiate Athletic Assoc.

Danny Morrison, Executive Director, Charlotte Sports Foundation

Jack Nance, Executive Director, Carolinas Golf Assoc.

Christopher Parker, President, National Junior College Athletic Assoc.

David Perkins, Chief Operating Officer, USA Baseball

Larry Perkins, Vice President & Assistant GM, PNC Arena

Kathy Robinson, Executive Director, North Carolina Youth Soccer

Justin Sellers, COO & Commissioner, Coastal Plain League

John Swofford, Commissioner, Atlantic Coast Conference

Que Tucker, Commissioner, North Carolina High School Athletic Assoc.

Don Waddell, President & GM, Carolina Hurricanes

Greg Walter, EVP & GM, Charlotte Motor Speedway

Michelle Wells, Executive Director, North Carolina Recreation and Park Assoc.

Kevin Wendelboe, Executive Director, Carolina Region of USA Volleyball

Fred Whitfield, President & Vice Chairman, Hornets Sports & Entertainment

NCSA Government Relations Committee

Demp Bradford (Chair), Asheville Buncombe Regional Sports Commission

Brian Ambuehl, Visit Greensboro

Bonny Bernat, Visit Winston-Salem

Hill Carrow, Triangle Sports Commission

Scott Dupree, Greater Raleigh Sports Alliance

Chuck Hobgood, North Carolina Amateur Sports

John Mark Freeze, Visit Charlotte

Ashlee Kirk, Greater Raleigh Sports Alliance

Lorrie Love, Outer Banks Visitors Bureau

Jason Philbeck, Greater Raleigh Sports Alliance

Paul Sheehan, Greenville-Pitt County Sports Commission