AAU Track & Field Announces 2020 Award Winners

ORLANDO, Fla. — The Amateur Athletic Union announced its National Track and Field winners for the 2020 season at the AAU Junior Olympic Games held on the Space Coast area of Florida. Approximately 2,100 athletes participated with five records being broken at the season-ending event in August.

James Wilkerson was named the National Coach of the Year and Zone A Coach of the Year for his efforts to build successful athletes and young citizens on and off the track. Runners from his club set indoor records in the 400m and 60m as well as the 4x200m 4x400m.

Wilkerson’s club also participates in food and clothing drives for those in need and Wilkerson enforces a strict “no grades, no run” philosophy with his athletes.

Nile Legania received the Zone B Coach of the Year award after taking 20 athletes to the AAU Championships and bringing home 15 medals. Legania also works to organize drives for the homeless in his community.

Thomas Boatright was named Zone C Coach of the Year after growing his club from 10 athletes in 1988 to 100 members now. He has helped more than 60 athletes earn college scholarships and sent one athlete to the 2016 Olympics.

Willie Harmatz was named the Zone D Coach of the Year. He owns a specialty running store and uses the store to mentor athletes. He doesn’t charge athletes to participate in his club and has produced multiple cross-country national champions.