Maine?s Sunday River to Host World Pro Ski Tour

March 20, 2018 –

Maine’s Sunday River to Host World Pro Ski Tour


PORTLAND, Maine — The World Pro Ski Tour will return to Sunday River in Newry, Maine, for the second year in a row for the final competition of the season in the Visit Maine Pro Ski Championship on March 30-31.

The weekend event is expected to attract many visitors to watch the field which includes Olympian Nolan Kasper who competed in Pyeongchang, South Korea. Kasper and several other Olympians and international competitors will compete for $10,000 in cash prizes.

The professional dual-alpine ski race will pit racers side by side on the Monday Mourning course, which is visible from the base area at Barker Mountain. The event is free and open to the public.

“We are thrilled to be bringing the tour back to Sunday River,” said Ed Rogers, president of the World Pro Ski Tour. “The event last year was a big reason we were able to add more locations and races to the tour this season. The business growth we have seen along with the quality of skiers that have competed in the events has made us proud to say the tour is back.”

The races will be televised on CBS Sports Network. The Visit Maine Pro Ski Championship will be broadcast on April 15 at 12L30 p.m. (EST).

This is the final event for the World Pro Ski Tour this season. The event begins Thursday, March 29 with an opening reception from 7 p.m.-9 p.m. at the Grand Summit. Qualifications are at noon, Friday, March 30 with Tito’s Apres party at the Foggy Goggle from 3-5 p.m. and Tito’s Evening Party at Trail’s End from 8-10 p.m. Saturday finals are at 11 a.m. with parties at the Barker Bar from 4-6 p.m. and at the Matterhorn from 8-10 p.m.

Racers scheduled to compete in the Visit Maine Pro Ski Championship are:

Michael Ankeny (Wayzata, Minnesota)
Philip Brown (Toronto, Ontario)
Jake Jacobs (Glens Falls, New York)
Nolan Kasper (Warren, Vermont)
Robby Kelley (Starksboro, Vermont)
Theo Leleu (Grenoble, France)
Johnny Manekin (Park City, Utah)
Tucker Marshall (Pittsfield, Vermont)
Kyle Martinson (Schroeder, Minnesota)
Sam Ricker (Turner, Maine)
Alec Tarberry (North Conway, New Hampshire)
Adam Zampa (Vysoke Tatry, Slovakia)
Andreas Zampa (Vysoke Tatry, Slovakia)

For more information, visit